Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Something is redirecting browser

  1. #11
    Emeritus Blade81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    25,300

    Default

    Please post fresh attach.txt part too.
    Microsoft Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft MVP Consumer Security 2008-2015
    UNITE member since 2006

    If you have problems create a thread in the forum, please.

    Malware removal instructions are for the correspondent user's case only.

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default Attach.txt

    Attached updated Attach file.

  3. #13
    Emeritus Blade81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    25,300

    Default

    Hi again,

    Disable Spybot's TeaTimer to make sure it won't interfere with fixes. You can re-enable it when you're clean again:
    • Run Spybot-S&D in Advanced Mode
    • If it is not already set to do this, go to the Mode menu
      select
      Advanced Mode
    • On the left hand side, click on Tools
    • Then click on the Resident icon in the list
    • Uncheck
      Resident TeaTimer
      and OK any prompts.
    • Restart your computer


    Open notepad and copy/paste the text in the quotebox below into it:

    Code:
    Driver::
    Drmwdvckuag
    DDS::
    BHO: {A4F94C0C-54A7-4DB1-9AF3-B22E63D00401} - No File
    TB: {C7768536-96F8-4001-B1A2-90EE21279187} - No File

    Save this as
    CFScript

    A word of warning: Neither I nor sUBs are responsible for any damage you may have caused your machine. This tool is not a toy and not for everyday use.



    Close all browser windows and refering to the picture above, drag CFScript into ComboFix.exe
    Then post the resultant log.


    Get update 9.3.2 for Adobe Reader here or get Foxit Reader here. Make sure you don't install toolbar if choose Foxit Reader! You may also check free readers introduced here.

    Uninstall these if not installed on purpose:
    Ask & Record Toolbar 4.01
    Ask Toolbar




    Your Java is out of date. Older versions have vulnerabilities that malware can use to infect your system. Please follow these steps to remove older version Java components and update to the latest version...

    Updating Java:
    • Download the latest version of Java Runtime Environment (JRE) 6 Update 20.
    • Click the
      Download
      button to the right.
    • Select Windows on platform combobox and check the box that says:
      Accept License Agreement. Click continue.
    • The page will refresh.
    • Click on the link to download Windows Offline Installation with or without Multi-language and save to your desktop.
    • Close any programs you may have running - especially your web browser.
    • Go to Start > Control Panel double-click on Add/Remove programs and remove all older versions of Java.
    • Check any item with Java Runtime Environment (JRE or J2SE) in the name.
    • Click the Remove or Change/Remove button.
    • Repeat as many times as necessary to remove each Java versions.
    • Reboot your computer once all Java components are removed.
    • Then from your desktop double-click on jre-6u20-windows-i586-p.exe to install the newest version. Uncheck Carbonite online backup trial if it's offered there.




    Download ATF (Atribune Temp File) Cleanerę by Atribune to your desktop.

    Double-click ATF Cleaner.exe to open it

    Under Main choose:
    Windows Temp
    Current User Temp
    All Users Temp
    Cookies
    Temporary Internet Files
    Prefetch
    Java Cache

    *The other boxes are optional*
    Then click the Empty Selected button.

    If you use Firefox:
    Click Firefox at the top and choose: Select All
    Click the Empty Selected button.
    NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click NO at the prompt.

    If you use Opera:
    Click Opera at the top and choose: Select All
    Click the Empty Selected button.
    NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click NO at the prompt.

    Click Exit on the Main menu to close the program.


    Please run an online scan with Kaspersky Online Scanner as instructed in the screenshot here.

    Post back its report, a fresh dds.txt log and above mentioned ComboFix resultant log.
    Microsoft Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft MVP Consumer Security 2008-2015
    UNITE member since 2006

    If you have problems create a thread in the forum, please.

    Malware removal instructions are for the correspondent user's case only.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default Thanks!

    I could not get Combo Fix to run again, so was unable to drag and drop script.

    Thanks for your help.

    T

  5. #15
    Emeritus Blade81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    25,300

    Default

    Hi,

    Did you get any error message? Remembered disable antivirus protection before drag'n'drop attempt?
    Microsoft Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft MVP Consumer Security 2008-2015
    UNITE member since 2006

    If you have problems create a thread in the forum, please.

    Malware removal instructions are for the correspondent user's case only.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default running scans

    I got ComboFix to run using the script, it was just slow to begin.

    I downloaded the update fro Adobe Reader and Javascript.

    The link did not work to the ATF Cleaner. I can't view my MSN homepage or my Facebook page, but that may be because I haven't restarted since installing the new javascript file.

    I have been running the Kaspersky Scan for several hours. I'll post logs when it is finished.

    Terry

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default logs

    I cannot attach the logs. Something has happened to my browser, it seems unable to run any scripts. My MSN homepage and Facebook page won't load any images or CSS styles. Some links won't work, including the one to the ATF Cleaner.

    I have already shut down and restarted. What should I do next?

    Terry

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default attaching files

    I discovered I can upload the logs using IE, but not Firefox. Please help me fix Firefox issues since that is my preferred browser.

    Terry

  9. #19
    Emeritus Blade81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    25,300

    Default

    Hi,

    I discovered I can upload the logs using IE, but not Firefox.
    Clear Firefox cache. Did you run ComboFix with the script I provided? Attached ComboFix log indicates that the tool was run without the script.
    Microsoft Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft MVP Consumer Security 2008-2015
    UNITE member since 2006

    If you have problems create a thread in the forum, please.

    Malware removal instructions are for the correspondent user's case only.

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default CFScript

    Thanks for Cache suggestions, that was all Firefox needed. Works fine now.

    I had trouble getting the script to run initially. I thought it had, but may have saved the log to the wrong place. This should be the correct log.

    Terry

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •