Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Nothing Found!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Nothing Found!

    My Spybot would always find several things when I would run it.

    I have removed/reinstalled when this happened in the past and I would run it again, and it would then find things.

    Now I do it and it finds no problems but my box has slowed considerably. I am using AVG for AV and it is finding nothing too.

    Have they figured out a way to disable Spybot from finding them?
    Last edited by tashi; 2010-09-30 at 23:52. Reason: Moved from General Hardware

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,471

    Default

    Hello motoman911,

    Malware can disable security programs or prevent updating but that doesn't appear to be the case here.

    Please list;

    Operating System.
    All security programs installed.
    Spybot-S&D version and last definitions.
    (Open Spybot Search & Destroy > Help > About)

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Vista home premium
    AVG
    Spybot 1.6.2.46 just updated definitions
    Clamwin

  4. #4
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,471

    Default

    Hi motoman911,

    You have two anti virus programs installed?

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Yes. Should I un install Clamwin or AVG?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    236

    Default

    ClamWin is not resident protection. The only thing running is ClamTray.exe that links to it's GUI and also downloads updates. I'm using Avast now, but when I had AVG installed a couple of years ago there was no conflict. ClamWin must be run manually to scan.

  7. #7
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,471

    Default

    Hello motoman911,
    Quote Originally Posted by motoman911 View Post
    but my box has slowed considerably. I am using AVG for AV and it is finding nothing too.
    Is the computer showing any signs of infection, slowdowns can be caused by other issues.

    Thank you for clarifying Gopher John.

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I removed clamwin.

    I saw an email come out of my box that was sent to all in my contact list on yahoo pointing to a RX site. I also seen it come in from others that I do business with so I think it may be a virus or a Trojan.

    When I run Spybot it always finds infections as I surf a lot. It has not found anything in weeks. The last time this happened I removed/reinstalled and ran a test again and it found the usual suspects right after I ran Spybot and showed clear.

    Something tells me someone has a block Spybot code in my box.

    My box has also slowed down a LOT especially when turning on or rebooting.

    I ran a Registry Mechanic check and it has a ton of errors too.

    Can you recommend a Registry repair program also? I am sure I am compromised.

  9. #9
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,471

    Default

    Hello motoman911,
    Quote Originally Posted by motoman911 View Post
    I removed clamwin.
    Gopher John informed that ClamWin is not resident protection, but your choice.
    Quote Originally Posted by motoman911 View Post
    Can you recommend a Registry repair program also?
    Registry Cleaners, not recommended

    Quote Originally Posted by motoman911 View Post
    I am sure I am compromised.
    If this is a personal computer and you would like someone to take a look at the system please see the FAQ which also includes instructions on posting a preliminary DDS log.

    "BEFORE you POST"(READ this Procedure BEFORE Requesting Assistance)

    Then start a new topic in the Malware Removal Forum and a volunteer analyst will advise you when available.

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    It is a business computer unfortunately. Spybot has not found anything in weeks and it use to find 8 - 12 things daily.

    Any ideas?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •