Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Avira & TeaTimer

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    43

    Default Avira & TeaTimer

    Question...

    I got sick of AVG awhile ago, it was too annoying. So I ended up in a routine of downloading the antivirus, updating and running it, then uninstalling it. Did this for probably almost a year now. Haven't had any problems. I'm usually pretty cautious about what I click on.

    I do keep spybot and superantispyware on regularly and run then regularly.

    I heard some good things about Avira antivirus, so I thought I'd give it a try. It found 1 potential virus (A0014693.exe) and seemed to take care of it just fine.

    However, when I have Avira activated, I can no longer interact with spybot or the TeaTimer. Is it normal for antivirus programs to block interaction with the TeaTimer?

    I dunno if there's a setting I can change or something... or are they just not compatible with each other?

    Is there a better free antivirus to run hand in hand with spybot?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Tom.K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The Universe / Milky Way / Solar System / Earth / Europe / Croatia
    Posts
    735

    Default

    You mean that Spybot doesn't work anymore after you've installed Avira? Try to reinstall Avira and Spybot if it helps. They shouldn't be incompatible at all. Did you enabled TeaTimer?
    N/A.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    43

    Default

    The TeaTimer icon is active on the taskbar, but while Avira is running I cannot click on it.

    Usually I right click on the TeaTimer icon to start up Spybot for a scan. But while Avira is active, doesn't matter if I right click, left click, double click, nothing has any interaction with TeaTimer.

    Then if I right click and disable Avira, now I can right click on TeaTimer and start up spybot again.
    Last edited by kingrobert; 2011-01-06 at 11:05.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Tom.K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The Universe / Milky Way / Solar System / Earth / Europe / Croatia
    Posts
    735

    Default

    Right-click on Avira Tray and select Configure AntiVir. Go to Guard > Scan > Exceptions and add exception to TeaTimer file.

    I don't know any other solution. I've looked on Avira forums about this, but it seems that TeaTimer doesn't seem to go well with Avira. Try to get product update or downgrade to version 9.
    N/A.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    43

    Default

    I added TeaTimer to the exceptions list. And I restarted my computer (first restart since I noticed this problem).

    They seem to be playing nicely together again... not sure which was the fix, the restart or the exception, but so far all is well.

    Is there a better AV program to run alongside with spybot? I'd rather change anti-virus than change spybot.

  6. #6
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

    Default

    I would have to agree that Avira's AntiVir is a great AV program; I know of it, but have not actually used it. I run avast! anti-virus.

    To be straightforward, there is actually no "best" AV in the Internet; every anti-virus program is solid and provides sufficient protection. I hope you know that.

    Please do not be concerned about this AV and Spybot issue; you should not worry now that everything is fine.

    Like I said before, AntiVir is fine as it is.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •