Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: SDMonSvc.exe been running for a long time

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    166

    Default SDMonSvc.exe been running for a long time

    I've just installed v2.0.3 on an XP SP3 PC and SDMonSvc.exe has been using a lot of CPU for over 1.5 hours - it's not using all the CPU but it has used 50 minutes of CPU time.

    What is SDMonSvc.exe and should it be running for this long on a relatively slow PC (AMD Athlon XP 1900+)?

    Any ideas on how long it will run?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    166

    Default

    I saw this post (4th paragraph) and so tried stopping the On-Access Monitor service. This stopped SDMonSvc.exe.

    Looks like there is a problem with the On-Access Monitor using a lot of CPU.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,263

    Default

    Hello,

    Thank you very much for providing feedback towards our Spybot 2.0.3 Beta.

    We will try to reproduce the problem and will try to fix it.

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Also have same problem

    Right clicking on any disk drive letter results in long running of SDMonSvc.exe

    It runs for about 10 minutes on a 60 GB SSD and about 20 Minutes on a 2 TB SATA drive. This prevents the task selection window from opening until SDMonSvc finishes.

    If the process is repeated after reaching the task menu the first time, it seems to prevent SDMonSrv from ever completing!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default SDMONSVC.exe CPU & Memory usage

    I too have noticed that since the last update I did has caused SDMONSVC.exe to run non stop and when I processes in task manager CPU is running constantly at a steady 100% this application accounts for up to 50% of CPU usage and is taking up over 64K of memory.
    Is it safe to stop the process

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruggie View Post
    <SNIP>
    Is it safe to stop the process
    Personally, I have all SBS&D services set to manual, and after I run SBS&D, I kill all those services and any other SBS&D processes.

    I have had no issues thus far.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •