Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Spybot won't execute from scheduler - Win 7/64

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default Spybot won't execute from scheduler - Win 7/64

    Please refer to this thread:

    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread...5&goto=newpost

    I am having trouble getting Spybot 1.6.2 to execute from a scheduler setting in advanced mode in Windows 7/64-bit. At first I thought it might be malware, but the machine, Kitty4, which is my wife's machine, is free of malware. Ken in the Malware forum suggested I post here.

    I have an identical machine to my wife's on which Spybot executes from the scheduler perfectly. I don't know why it won't on her machine. I can only run it manually from the start menu on her machine. Why?

    Thanks for your suggestions!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,263

    Default

    Hello,

    Did you open Spybot with a right click and choose "run as administrator/take ownership"?

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default

    When I run it from the start menu, yes. The problem now is it does not execute on a schedule, such as 3:00PM every Tues, Thurs, Sun that I have set up in advanced mode/scheduler. It doesn't run at the specified day & time.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,263

    Default

    Hello,

    Did you enter a password?

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default

    No password is required on either machine, if that's what you mean.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Have you tried setting up the scheduled task using the Task Scheduler (Start - All Programs - Accessories - System Tools)? If you're logged on as a user, you may want to run the Task Scheduler as administrator, depending on what you want to do.

    I think that I had similar problems setting up scheduled tasks from the Spybot UI on my Windows 7 64 bit PC, but I had no problems getting them running using the Task Scheduler.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I examined the Task Scheduler settings, and changed the User from Stephen to Kitty, verified other settings and saved it yesterday. Today at 3:00PM it still did not appear to execute on either User. However I check the Spybot log files, and it did execute on time as scheduled. Why does it not show up on either User I am logged on to?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default

    No Reply?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,263

    Default

    Hello,

    So does Kitty have admin rights and is not only a user?
    I would recommend to try it with a password and see if that works.
    If you do not have a password for the account yet, you can make one via the Windows control panel, below "user and passwords".

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Kitty is an administrator, and the task is scheduled with a password on her account.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •