Thread: S&D starts scan at start up

Question S&D starts scan at start up

OK, I've searched through the forums and there have been a few posts regarding how to stop S&D from startup at system startup; however, the solution isn't my issue. Been there, done that.

In fact, I have been using S&D for close to 10 years now, and have always had the "No automation" selected, and all options below unchecked as I don't want time wasted when booting. I would rather manually do a scan at the end of the day than to have to wait for a scan at the beginning.

Starting around Feb. 2012, on my weekly updates and immunizations I started having a problem with the program making changes to my automation options without my physically going into the options to change them myself. I would do an update, immunize, check for problems and then shut down. The next time I would boot, a scan would begin. Attempting to stop the scan would only lock up my computer forcing me to do a manual shut-down so I could reboot and then recheck my settings in S&D. Lo and behold, even though the main "No automation" button under System start would be checked, the "Run check on program start" would be checked. I DID NOT highlight this myself.