Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 50

Thread: System Scan won't scan.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default System Scan won't scan.

    The System Scan will not open to scan.

    I am able to update, immunize, Rootkit Quick as well as Rootkit Deep scan.
    I am also able to access my logs, everything but do a system scan! When I click to open the system scan, the scan icon appears in the notify tray and does not appear on my desktop. The scan will not start or appear on the desktop and there is no activity reported by the task manger. I have even uninstalled and re-installed to no avail. Anyone have any idea how to fix this?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,263

    Default

    Hello,

    Does the SDScan run in the taskmanager?

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    no, the task manager shows no SpyBot S&D activity.

    as mentioned I have uninstalled and reinstalled it twice. it didn't help.

    I have Win7 Home Premium SP 1 (64 bit) if that's of any help.
    Last edited by Deaf Dave; 2013-03-23 at 02:20. Reason: added more info.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,263

    Default

    Hello,

    Please open the SDScan.exe manually from your Spybot folder:

    Windows XP: C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy 2
    Windows Vista or Windows 7 or Windows 8: C:\Programs (x86)\Spybot - Search & Destroy 2

    Do you run any other security software?
    How long did you wait for the scan to come up?

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hi Sandra,
    I tried to run the program manually from the Programs (x86) folder and the SDSScan.exe never opens nor does the Task Manager show any activity.
    Also, the TeaTimer does not show in Task Manager.

    I have run antivirus (SuperAntiSpyware, Avast Internet Security, Bit Defender) and antimalware (Avast & MalwareBytes) scans and none reported any infections. These are my usual security programs other than Windows Defender. I also ran TDSSKiller & Sophos Virus Removal Tool and these came up clean also. So it would appear that my system is free of 'bugs'.

    I usually ran the SDScan.exe once a month (Updates & Immunizations daily) and never had a problem until the last time I tried to run it. I hope this helps.
    Thank you.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    23

    Unhappy

    My System Scan is not working either, from both the Start Center and the executable file itself in the Spybot folder.
    All the commands are italicised as if it were running, but none of the menu commands can be used.

    Anyone know what's going on here?
    In the beginning was the Shining One, Ptath, god of land, sea and space, on whom be all praise heaped, and countless prayers offered that he may return to his chosen race.

  7. #7
    Translator Team bbnetwork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany- Saxony
    Posts
    595

    Default

    Please download Hijackthis, rename the executable and run it as Administrator.
    Into Hijackthis select "Perform a scan and safe a logfile".
    Please copy the content of this log into forum.
    Last edited by tashi; 2013-04-08 at 16:18. Reason: Edit



    לשונות רעות שנפגעו שלוש פעמים: למי שמדבר, שדברו עליהם ומי שמקשיב.

    שלום

  8. #8
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,172

    Default

    Hijackthis isn't allowed to be posted in this forum section,bbnetwork(it also isn't used here anymore):
    Quote Originally Posted by tashi
    No Malware logs are to be posted in any of our other forums.
    From:
    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=288

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    23

    Red face

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenobia View Post
    Hijackthis isn't allowed to be posted in this forum section,bbnetwork(it also isn't used here anymore):

    From:
    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=288
    So ... where do I go from here?

    Start scan, Pause scan, Stop scan, Fix selected, and Save scan log... are all italicized and unusable when I try to start a System Scan

    In the beginning was the Shining One, Ptath, god of land, sea and space, on whom be all praise heaped, and countless prayers offered that he may return to his chosen race.

  10. #10
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,172

    Default

    Could you attempt to start a System Scan again,and then start Task Manager,select the Processes tab,scroll down and see if sdscan.exe is listed there?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •