Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Windows 8.1 (RTM) Non install whatsoever

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default Windows 8.1 (RTM) Non install whatsoever

    Anybody have any idea? I trying to install in 8.1 (RTM) and I get a compatibility message and won't even allow me to install at all

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,485

    Default

    Hello NUTTER123,
    Quote Originally Posted by NUTTER123 View Post
    Anybody have any idea? I trying to install in 8.1 (RTM) and I get a compatibility message and won't even allow me to install at all
    The public release isn't till October and software developers may have to wait to test compatibility.

    Developers flay Microsoft for withholding Windows 8.1 RTM
    http://www.computerworld.com/s/artic...indows_8.1_RTM

    Inevitably, Windows 8.1 RTM leaks on to the Internet
    http://betanews.com/2013/08/29/inevi...-the-internet/

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    456

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NUTTER123 View Post
    Anybody have any idea? I trying to install in 8.1 (RTM) and I get a compatibility message and won't even allow me to install at all
    Please see http://www.safer-networking.org/wind...or-spybot-2-1/

    I assume you are one of those software developers.

    daemon

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I assume you are getting the same error as I am?

    SpyBot - Search and Destroy has been blocked from running because it might prevent your PC from starting correctly in the future.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NUTTER123 View Post
    Anybody have any idea? I trying to install in 8.1 (RTM) and I get a compatibility message and won't even allow me to install at all
    I'm having the exact same problem. Windows Pro 8.1 x64 (RTM).

    This is even after the Fix has been installed. Here's a screenshot:

    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    456

    Lightbulb

    Please see http://www.safer-networking.org/wind...or-spybot-2-1/ for an explanation of this problem and how to work-around it. This page was updated with new information since I first posted it in this thread.

    We are sorry for the inconvenience and are working together with Microsoft to remedy this problem with Windows 8.1.

    daemon
    Last edited by daemon; 2013-09-11 at 15:30.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daemon View Post
    Please see http://www.safer-networking.org/wind...or-spybot-2-1/ for an explanation of this problem and how to work-around it. This page was updated with new information since I first posted it in this thread.

    We are sorry for the inconvenience and are working together with Microsoft to remedy this problem with Windows 8.1.

    daemon
    Still getting the same errors as before.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    The same. Managing to install the program itself but still won't run even after the patch is installed

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    456

    Default

    With the instructions on http://www.safer-networking.org/wind...or-spybot-2-1/ you can install Spybot 2.1, but you still cannot use the Start Center. Instead you have to start the different Spybot modules e.g. via the start menu entries directly.

    @NUTTER123 and @skowt: Can you really still not install the software using the patch or can't you just use the Start Center then? Please be precise as this will help us fix this issue. Thank you!

    daemon

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default Why does the windows 8.1 RTM patch executable say it's for windows 8.1 preview?

    Downloaded the spybot21-win81rtm-patch.exe using the "for windows 8.1 RTM patch" link from the Widows 8.1 Patch for Spybot 2.1 page on the safer networking org site. When I executed the exe, the screens said that patch was for the Windows 8.1 preview version. Running it did not solve the problem. Is this a bad link or mix-up in the patch executables?
    Last edited by tashi; 2013-09-15 at 01:44. Reason: Merged topics

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •