Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: Reports of Spybot Search & Destroy 2.2 are clean and no virus?

  1. #21
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,165

    Default

    The Spybot scan looks to just be tracks.

    For the rootkit scan,please see here:
    http://www.safer-networking.org/faq/...ally-rootkits/
    If you have any questions about anything found,you can ask about them here:
    http://forums.spybot.info/forumdispl...?46-RootAlyzer

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    26

    Default

    When I chose the option System Scan and I found all these "threats" or whatever you call it, will given the option Fix Selected, I have done well? ME WILL NOT DELETE ANYTHING COMPUTER? ALL IMPORTANT?

    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread...766#post446766
    Last edited by tashi; 2013-11-10 at 00:40. Reason: Added link to third topic

  3. #23
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,165

    Default

    The things found in your Spybot scan appear to be usage tracks,which are not a threat:
    http://www.safer-networking.org/faq/usage-tracks/
    When you pressed Fix Selected,the things removed by Spybot should not have caused harm to your computer.
    Spybot also backs up what it fixes into quarantine,just in case anything goes wrong,and can be recovered.

    You seem worried about what Spybot found and a little hesitant about pressing Fix Selected.Plus I think we're having a bit of a communication problem,yes?
    You could set Spybot not to scan for usage tracks if you would prefer.There would be less things found after a scan,and that would be less stressful for you,I think.
    If you'd like to try that,please open Spybot-S&D Start Center,check mark Advanced Mode.
    Click Settings.If you get a prompt from UAC,click Yes.
    Click the Categories tab.
    Somewhere in the white window shown there,please right click with you mouse,and select "Spyware scan only."
    Please click the Apply button,and then the Ok button.That will close the Settings window,and you can exit Spybot.

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    26

    Default

    So I have not deleted anything important on your computer? anything at all?

  5. #25
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,165

    Default

    Nope,not from the looks of things.

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I have uninstalled and reinstalled Spybot Search & Destroy and deleted everything I had found when you place an analysis on System scan that was in the cuerentana, I have not thought before the quarantine had when I uninstalled the program and look ... there will not erase anything on your computer? something important?

  7. #27
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,165

    Default

    The quarantine folder isn't removed when you uninstall Spybot unless you remove it yourself.
    translated(Sorry,I know translate tools don't always work the best.):
    La carpeta de cuarentena no es eliminada cuando se desinstala Spybot a menos que se elimine usted mismo.

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    26

    Default

    But I deleted all traces of files that had spybot on my computer even the quarantine folder. But answer me something happens for eliminating the quarantine folder? Habre erased some of the computer? something important?

  9. #29
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,165

    Default

    If you deleted the quarantine folder,any backups made by Spybot were deleted along with it.
    If Spybot had removed something before by mistake(a false positive),then it is possible something that belongs on your computer would be removed.But that doesn't happen often.
    But if Spybot only removed tracks and spyware and placed them as backups into your quarantine folder,then only those would be removed from your computer when you removed the quarantine folder,so there should be no harm.

    Usage tracks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •