Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Schedule and MRU

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Potomac MD USA
    Posts
    119

    Default Schedule and MRU

    Hi,
    I scheduled updates for 12:00 AM every Mon of every week
    It ran on 4/19 and is scheduled for 4/20.
    Yet it says, "One or more of the properties that are needed to run this task on a schedule have not been set"
    What is missing?
    Also, What is a MRU scan? Is it necessary or desirable? I can't find it in help.
    Frank C
    Frank C
    Spybot 2.5
    Windows 10

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    If I remember this correctly,you have Spybot Home Edition,is that right?The reason I ask is for me to have the best answer for this.
    I scheduled updates for 12:00 AM every Mon of every week
    MRU is most recently used.
    It's explained more here:
    http://www.ehow.com/info_12213731_mru-list.html
    The scheduled task is to scan most recently used files in the background,when your computer is idle.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Potomac MD USA
    Posts
    119

    Default Schedule and MRU

    Thanks Zenobia,
    Yes, I have 2.4.40.0 home edition. I just recently (4/14/2015) installed it and I am still learning.
    I must now have all fields that are required in a schedule. I don't see the warning message in
    Schedule, Updates or Scan. I do see it in MRU scan.

    Also, is there a way to schedule an execution of Rootkit scan ? I could use task scheduler if I new the parameter for deep scan and quick scan for SDRootAlyzer.exe.

    Frank C
    Frank C
    Spybot 2.5
    Windows 10

  4. #4
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    With Home edition,the antivirus updates are released everyday,sometimes a couple times a day.It's up to you what you like for updates,of course,but having updates scheduled for once a week,you'd be a bit late for most of those updates.
    Was the scheduled task for updates already set up and you changed it,or was the scheduled task there but not active yet,and you went about setting it up yourself?

    I've never known anyone to set up a scheduled scan for the rootkit scan before,so don't know a lot about how anyone would go about it.I used this to find the command line parameters,perhaps some of those can be used with the scheduled task:
    http://www.safer-networking.org/faq/...t-can-be-used/

    Basic -
    /help - shows this page
    /verbose - displays more output

    Automation -
    /silent - avoid unnecessary output
    /taskbarhide - avoid UI appearing even in the task list
    /autodeepscan - immediately starts a deep scan
    /autoclose - closes after automated actions have finished

    -

    Supplemental Options -
    /youtube - adds menu option to resize windows to YouTube video resolutions
    /scanuserhives - includes HKEY_USERS in autodeepscan action
    /anomalies - forces scan for anomalies
    /noanomalies - forces suppression of scan for anomalies

    System Service related -
    /serviceinstalltest - fakes that services are not installed
    Caution should be used setting up a rootkit scan,though.I don't think a parameter is available to automatically clean,which is a good thing.But I'll mention not to try to set the scheduled task to /cleanclose just to be on the safe side.You're probably aware that some things found during a rootkit scan aren't always bad as you seem like an experienced computer user,but I'm going to mention it anyways,since rootkit scan results are a bit tricky.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Potomac MD USA
    Posts
    119

    Default Schedule and MRU

    Thanks for the good information Zenobia.

    The scheduled task for updates was already set up and I changed it, I was doing it weekly when I had version 1.6. I will now change the update schedule to daily.

    I am familiar with using Task Scheduler. I set up tasks to copy my music and pictures to a backup external drive using Robocopy over night.

    My first Rootkit scan revealed a bunch of files(67) with "No admin in ACL". Some were Temp. I deleted them. The others I fixed with ICACLS -d and /reset.

    I also had 24 "Unknown ADS" files. I fixed these with Streams -d (delete streams) from Sysinternals
    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...rnals/bb545046

    For now, I will run Rootkit Scan about once a month. I will keep the paameters that you sent to use if I decide to
    try Task Scheduler.
    Frank C
    Frank C
    Spybot 2.5
    Windows 10

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Potomac MD USA
    Posts
    119

    Default Correction post #5 April 25 at 11:54

    This line:
    The others I fixed with ICACLS -d and /reset.
    Should read :
    The others I fixed with ICACLS and /reset.
    -d is not valid for ICACLS
    Frank C
    Frank C
    Spybot 2.5
    Windows 10

  7. #7
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    Okay.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •