Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Download/Streaming/Pop-up Problems

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Hi

    I did as instructed, but neither program will download still

    Malcolm

  2. #12
    Emeritus
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    @localhost
    Posts
    6,067

    Default

    hi,

    Lets start over again. Look in your add/remove programs panel for these entries and uninstall them:

    LinkSwift 1.0.0
    Optimizer Pro Crash Monitor (Didnt see this one on your list but you might see it, if you dont see it listed let me know and we will go after it manually)

    These are the cause of your popups. Most likely piggybacked in on other software. After the uninstall reboot machine. I dont think these are the cause of being unable to download software. Try one of those downloads again just to be sure after you uninstall linkswift and pro cash monitor (if its listed).
    How Can I Reduce My Risk?

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Hi Shelf Life

    Well, you seem to have cracked it.
    I removed Link swift and all the pop-ups are gone.
    I couldn't find Optimiser Pro Crash Monitor, but I did find something called Optimizer Pro v3.2, which I left alone.

    Malwarebytes then downloaded fine, I will try and attach the log, but I always mess up there!! Ah, it says the file is 50.9Kb which is over the 48.8Kb limit so it won't upload, please advise.
    I tried streaming a couple of things which wouldn't work properly before, and they now seem to be fine.

    Please let me know if you see anything in the log that needs fixing, and also is there anything you've asked me to do whilst fixing this that I now need to reset?

    I can't thank you enough for your help, but a small donation will arrive.

    Thanks again

    Malcolm

  4. #14
    Emeritus
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    @localhost
    Posts
    6,067

    Default

    ok Good news. Go ahead and uninstall Optimizer Pro v3.2 from the add remove programs panel- its useless and bundled with other addons.

    The MBAM log: you could copy/paste half of it in one post then the other half in another post?

    If you want you can re-enable Windows SmartScreen.
    How Can I Reduce My Risk?

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Hi

    Okay, tried to attach it as 2 files, hope it works ok

    Malcolm
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #16
    Emeritus
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    @localhost
    Posts
    6,067

    Default

    Ok thanks for the logs. Since you had adware type stuff we will hit it with adwcleaner.exe, which targets this stuff, just to pick up anything MBAM didnt drag up. So one more download and we will call it quits after that.

    Please download Adwcleaner.exe using the Download Now @Bleepingcomputer button.
    Double click on AdwCleaner.exe, select OK, then Run
    Click on the Scan button
    Once its done click on the Report button
    Copy and paste the contents of the log file in your reply
    You can also find the logfile at C:\AdwCleaner[R1].txt as well
    Exit AdwCleaner with the X (close) button. click ok at the final prompt.
    How Can I Reduce My Risk?

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Hi

    Ran AdwCleaner - it found Optimiser Pro Crash Monitor!!

    Log attached.

    Thanks again for your invaluable help.
    Do I need to run any of these programs regularly, i.e. when I do a Spybot scan?

    Malcolm
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #18
    Emeritus
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    @localhost
    Posts
    6,067

    Default

    hi Malcolm,

    Thanks for the info. You can keep and use MBAM, the free version must be updated manually and a scan started manually. MBAM targets much more than just adware. Always check for updates before a scan is started.

    Adwcleaner is updated frequently and i think it will prompt you if theres is a updated version. It targets adware. But, do you need to keep and use it? I guess you could but all the stuff you had is avoidable. Most likely it was installed with other software. I have some info about this on my web page. There is a uninstall button if you want to remove it.
    If all is good on your end we can call it quits.
    Happy safe surfing out there.
    How Can I Reduce My Risk?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •