Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Spybot-with-AV versions and F-Prot questions

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Elkhorn, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    2

    Default Spybot-with-AV versions and F-Prot questions

    I used Spybot years ago and wandered away--don't know why. I'm back.

    I have just installed the "Free" version in a Windows 8.1 64-bit world that includes F-Prot that I have used for years and trust completely.

    What happens if I install a Spybot+AV version? F-Prot affected. Both get along well?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,492

    Default

    Hello LarrySheldon,

    Quote Originally Posted by LarrySheldon View Post
    I have just installed the "Free" version in a Windows 8.1 64-bit world that includes F-Prot that I have used for years and trust completely.

    What happens if I install a Spybot+AV version? F-Prot affected. Both get along well?
    Rule of thumb is one firewall and one anti virus program resident to avoid conflicts, loss of program efficiency and system lock up due to both software products attempting to access the same files at the same time.

    Having more than one resident can cause a serious system slowdown.

    Hope that helps.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Elkhorn, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tashi View Post
    Hello LarrySheldon,



    Rule of thumb is one firewall and one anti virus program resident to avoid conflicts, loss of program efficiency and system lock up due to both software products attempting to access the same files at the same time.

    Having more than one resident can cause a serious system slowdown.

    Hope that helps.
    I knew that but thought maybe there was a New Way. Thanks.

    Follow-on question: If I buy Home-Professional, can I turn off AV?
    Last edited by LarrySheldon; 2015-02-08 at 03:41.

  4. #4
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,492

    Default

    Hi LarrySheldon,

    If you are happy with your F-Prot you could stay with the Spybot free version.

    Quote Originally Posted by LarrySheldon View Post
    Follow-on question: If I buy Home-Professional, can I turn off AV?
    Edit I missed your second question.

    "If you have another antivirus engine running you can choose to disable the one integrated into Spybot +AV from Settings."

    http://www.safer-networking.org/live-protection/
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  5. #5
    Junior Member jshoes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Waterford
    Posts
    1

    Default Spybot-with AV versions and F-Prot questions

    I too have been using F-Prot for years and love it. I also have just got back into using Spybot, after not using it for several years. I would like having more options offered with the AV version but do not want to switch from F-Prot. I am sure there are more users out here who would love more options available without the Spybot +AV option. Would Spybot consider a version with more options for us? I would be willing to pay for a more robust Spybot product without AV. A Super Free version for a subscription? Just a thought.
    Last edited by jshoes; 2015-02-11 at 09:28.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •