Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Looking for help with this program....Can't download updates ....why? Do I re-instal

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    3

    Question Looking for help with this program....Can't download updates ....why? Do I re-instal

    Hello and greetings: I have been using "Spybot-Free edition" for over a year now. Just recently, when trying to update new anti-virus and malware information....the program says" failed to update" and I get a red-flagged rectangle-box .

    As a profoundly experienced "operator error" member of the "mystifying explanations of computer directions" I'm not sure what to do.

    If you can help....please.....explain in simple steps.....no I mean simple steps to the generation that didn't have these tools and missed them completely in any schooling. So, any thoughts or help!

    Thanks for your help in advance.
    Mr.CoffeeCup-Orlando

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,178

    Default

    Down below the Update button,there's the Antispyware section,and the Antivirus section.Is one or the other showing as completed,while the other does not?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default Cannot retrieve updates for my Spybot computer scan system.

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenobia View Post
    Down below the Update button,there's the Antispyware section,and the Antivirus section.Is one or the other showing as completed,while the other does not?
    The answer is yes, I believe that my system or computer is seeing the material(updates) to be loaded as being "Offered" then when I want to download them into my computer, it does not retrieve them. The message says that the "available updates" cannot be retrieved after trying three times. Something is blocking my downloads from Spybot.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrCoffeeCup View Post
    The answer is yes, I believe that my system or computer is seeing the material(updates) to be loaded as being "Offered" then when I want to download them into my computer, it does not retrieve them. The message says that the "available updates" cannot be retrieved after trying three times. Something is blocking my downloads from Spybot.
    Here is a copy of the "error" report about updates not being retrieved:


    [00:00.266] [i] Using proxy: localhost:8080
    [00:00.282] [.] Trying to retrieve update info file from http://updates3.safer-networking.org/spybotsd2.uid...
    [00:01.313] [i] Did not retrieved update info file (attempt 1 of 3).
    [00:02.344] [.] Trying to retrieve update info file from http://updates2.safer-networking.org/spybotsd2.uid...
    [00:03.376] [i] Did not retrieved update info file (attempt 1 of 3).
    [00:04.407] [.] Trying to retrieve update info file from http://updates1.safer-networking.org/spybotsd2.uid...
    [00:05.438] [i] Did not retrieved update info file (attempt 1 of 3).
    [00:06.469] [.] Trying to retrieve update info file from http://updates2.safer-networking.org/spybotsd2.uid...
    [00:07.516] [i] Did not retrieved update info file (attempt 2 of 3).
    [00:08.563] [.] Trying to retrieve update info file from http://updates1.safer-networking.org/spybotsd2.uid...
    [00:09.610] [i] Did not retrieved update info file (attempt 2 of 3).
    [00:10.657] [.] Trying to retrieve update info file from http://updates3.safer-networking.org/spybotsd2.uid...
    [00:11.704] [i] Did not retrieved update info file (attempt 2 of 3).
    [00:12.751] [.] Trying to retrieve update info file from http://updates3.safer-networking.org/spybotsd2.uid...
    [00:13.782] [-] Did not retrieved update info file (attempt 3 of 3).
    [00:14.813] [.] Trying to retrieve update info file from http://updates2.safer-networking.org/spybotsd2.uid...
    [00:15.845] [-] Did not retrieved update info file (attempt 3 of 3).
    [00:16.876] [.] Trying to retrieve update info file from http://updates1.safer-networking.org/spybotsd2.uid...

  5. #5
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,178

    Default

    Thanks.
    Whoops,I missed that you had free edition.The antivirus part of my post must not have made much sense.

    Unless you ordinarily use a proxy,it looks like the Spybot proxy is activated.Try opening Spybot start center,checkmark advanced user mode,click Settings(say yes to UAC,if applicable.),then the Internet Protection tab,uncheck Use Spybot Proxy,click Apply and OK.Try checking for updates after that,and see if they work.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I'm having similar issues trying to download updates with Spybot 1.6.0

    I keep getting "bad checksum" errors when downloading 3 specific files ( see the "update hash code problem" thread here: http://forums.spybot.info/showthread...h-code-problem ). I have tried 2 days in a row, using 2 different servers (both based in Germany).

    The other 6 or so updates I found yesterday downloaded and appear to have installed without any problems.

    Edit: They just installed without issues when I downloaded them using a server from France
    Last edited by Lonewolf10; 2015-03-14 at 03:04.

  7. #7
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,178

    Default

    If you ever get bad checksum again,you can try another server again,or you could always get the manual update,also:
    http://www.safer-networking.org/faq/...hecksum-error/

    Also,if you open Spybot and click help and about,and you do have the Spybot 1.6 version,then that's old,and you might like to update to Spybot 1.6.2,which is the latest of that version.
    http://www.safer-networking.org/mirrors16/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •