Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: two versions of spybot after update?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    2

    Default two versions of spybot after update?

    Hello, I'm new here! Sorry for my bad english first of all...
    I just updated Spybot after years with the same old version -_-
    Now, I have two folders: Spybot and Spybot2
    I'm not sure: is it a double version? Can I unistall the previous?
    I can't really understand if the second folder is something like a "plus" tool or if it's a "copy" of the software.
    When I try to uninstall the first one, Spybot say "warning" because it say there are settings and stuff that will be lost.
    When I open the "first" Spybot, it looks totally different from the "second". So I'm not sure if I can unistall the previous.
    I'm not so expert so I'm afraid to make bad choices
    Thank you very much!
    Elisa

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,165

    Default

    The Spybot - Search & Destroy folder is the folder for the old 1.6.2 version.The Spybot - Search & Destroy 2 folder is the folder for the new Spybot version.It's not a plus or copy of the old version.
    The warning when you uninstall Spybot 1.6.2 is,I believe,just a warning in case people are trying to undo changes made by Spybot,and mistakenly believe uninstalling Spybot will accomplish that.
    You can uninstall Spybot 1.6.2,and just start using the newer version,uninstalling the old version shouldn't affect the new version in any way.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    2

    Default

    thank you very much Zenobia!

  4. #4
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,165

    Default

    You're welcome.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •