Page 10 of 31 FirstFirst ... 6789101112131420 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 305

Thread: Spybot Anti-Beacon for Windows 10

  1. #91
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1

    Default A simple question...

    Do I need to keep the program open in order to maintain protection? Or is it a click-and-forget sort of thing?

    If the former is true, is there a way to minimize it to the tray?

  2. #92
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NudeBuddha View Post
    Do I need to keep the program open in order to maintain protection? Or is it a click-and-forget sort of thing?

    If the former is true, is there a way to minimize it to the tray?
    This is my very question. This is why I came here. Will the program protect me after I hit the "close" button?

    Hopefully someone will answer?
    Last edited by petbot; 2016-01-20 at 16:03.

  3. #93
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,491

    Default

    Hello,

    "Simply clicking “Immunize” on the main screen of Anti-Beacon will immediately disable any known tracking features included by Microsoft in the operating system."

    https://www.safer-networking.org/spybot-anti-beacon/

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  4. #94
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I can run anti beacon with no errors but search in menu stops working.
    You can type and words do come o screen but you can't find anything (searching for installed programs)

    snip_20160125074800.jpg

  5. #95
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Is this thread for SP-AB Win10 ONLY or for all versions? (Didn't find other main threads, should I create one for 7?)

    How can I turn off the "re-immunize on startup" option? I have uninstalled the program and it still wants to do it and I have hosts file locked via. antivirus, so it shows an error on every startup. I want to keep using the program, but reinstalling without ticking the "startup" option and even uninstalling the program doesn't help me.

    Windows 7 x64.

  6. #96
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    6

    Default

    If it's uninstalled it can't modify anything, that's the nature of uninstall
    Look in your startup for further info (msconfig)

  7. #97
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    3

    Default

    yeah, that's what I thought, but the hosts file change error is still appearing... nor does spybot appear in startup, I've checked... (IMHO it never was there)

  8. #98
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by allue View Post
    yeah, that's what I thought, but the hosts file change error is still appearing... nor does spybot appear in startup, I've checked... (IMHO it never was there)
    Then something else is modifying host file.
    Try Sysinternal Autorun and see what is starting https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...rnals/bb963902

  9. #99
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Just tried playing with settings and found out that something here when active is blocking search in menu.
    Under protection (first tab) everything is checked.
    Any toughs ?


    Untitled.jpg
    Last edited by Vepar; 2016-01-26 at 10:03.

  10. #100
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1

    Default won't go away

    Quote Originally Posted by allue View Post
    yeah, that's what I thought, but the hosts file change error is still appearing... nor does spybot appear in startup, I've checked... (IMHO it never was there)
    I installed the 1.5 version. Since the host file is locked, it hangs on that. Should get fixed. Then using 50% of CPU always, I uninstalled it. But it's like from hell! Won't go away. Always comes back. Finally deleted the whole folder in safe mode. But now have scvhost using 50% of cpu. I didn't have this before I installed this program.

    So, I would like a cleaner program to get rid of all the things left over that are wrecking my system.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •