Page 21 of 31 FirstFirst ... 11171819202122232425 ... LastLast
Results 201 to 210 of 305

Thread: Spybot Anti-Beacon for Windows 10

  1. #201
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    1

    Question Open to be running?

    Does Spybot Anti beacon have to be open for it to be working? Do I have to actually start it for it to work?

  2. #202
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Verkt View Post
    the file hosts is in "read only" mode
    untick read only to save, then tick it again
    That doesnt work either, I even copied the file then made the changes and tried to replace the old unchanged file but then tells me I dont have the permissions to do so even though my account is the only admin account on the computer.

  3. #203
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hammer23 View Post
    That doesnt work either, I even copied the file then made the changes and tried to replace the old unchanged file but then tells me I dont have the permissions to do so even though my account is the only admin account on the computer.
    and spybot is able to change it ?! if you cancel host tweak in spybot it resets the file ?
    may be a problem account but if spybot can do it and you not....

  4. #204
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by puertasdecielo View Post
    Does Spybot Anti beacon have to be open for it to be working? Do I have to actually start it for it to work?
    No, just launch one time

  5. #205
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Is there an ETA for Anniversary-Update-ready Anti-Beacon? I can't update my Win10 without Anti-Beacon!

  6. #206
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default Minimize to tray

    I am unable to minimize Anti-Beacon to Windows tray.

    I have tried 3 different traying programs and A-B is the only one that refuses to tray.
    Any idea why and is there a way around this?

    Thanks.

  7. #207
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation answers

    - not updated
    - no need ton keep in memory
    - still the problem with skype temporary resolved by non-apply hosts' list or deleting line about "gateway...." in hosts
    - O&O shutup 10 complete well SBAB and is "anniversary-Update-ready"
    Last edited by Verkt; 2016-09-27 at 13:05.

  8. #208
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Verkt View Post
    - not updated
    - no need ton keep in memory
    - still the problem with skype temporary resolved by non-apply hosts' list or deleting line about "gateway...." in hosts
    - O&O shutup 10 complete well SBAB and is "anniversary-Update-ready"
    I am using AB in W7 (ShutUP in W10).

    None of the reasons you quote seems to justify the drawback of inability to traymin. The open button takes too much space on the task bar and I prefer it to take space in memory rather than there. All programs do that, so particularly one that just runs in the background should.

  9. #209
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oaooao View Post
    I am using AB in W7 (ShutUP in W10).

    None of the reasons you quote seems to justify the drawback of inability to traymin. The open button takes too much space on the task bar and I prefer it to take space in memory rather than there. All programs do that, so particularly one that just runs in the background should.
    ShutUP 10 sneaks up opencandy adware on the system.

  10. #210
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dark9 View Post
    ShutUP 10 sneaks up opencandy adware on the system.
    Thanks for the info. The question is what is worse: MS telemetry or ShutUp10 adware.


    Had I had minimal trust in MS I would have said at least telemetry can help improve Windows, but I don't have it.

    Does A-B work in W10?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •