Page 4 of 28 FirstFirst 1234567814 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 277

Thread: Spybot Anti-Beacon for Windows 10

  1. #31
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    1

    Default Virus Warning In Bitdefender - modification of hosts

    After running Spybot Anti-Beacon my anti-virus software Bitdefender Total Security warns me for an infection of the file C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts. Bitdefender adds that it has desinfected the item. It also claims the virus is Trojan.QHost.Gen.

    I'm running Spybot Anti-Beacon 1.0.4 (installer version) on Windows 8.1.

    Before the warning Spybot Anti-Beacon showed a 100% protection. After the virus warning, I ran Anti-Beacon again and now the protection level is only 22% (7 of 32). None of the Telemetry Hosts are blocked, the other three (Telemetry Group Policy, CEIP Group Policy and CEIP Scheduled Tasks) are all blocked (see image). The optional Remote Registry Service is "all blocked" too.

    spybot-anti-beacon-2015-10-19.png

  2. #32
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    29,945

    Default

    Hello Mijnged8,

    Quote Originally Posted by Mijnged8 View Post
    I'm running Spybot Anti-Beacon 1.0.4 (installer version) on Windows 8.1.
    The subject of this topic is Spybot Anti-Beacon for Windows 10.

    Quote Originally Posted by PepiMK View Post
    Spybot Anti-Beacon for Windows 10 is a small utility designed to block and stop the various tracking (aka telemetry) issues that come with Windows 10.
    Have you used Spybot Anti-Beacon on a Windows 10 operating system?

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP 2006-2016
    Windows Insider MVP 2016, 2017

  3. #33
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    1

    Exclamation Skype not working

    After applying the block to the Optional Telemetry Hosts (Extensive list), I noticed skype chats wouldn't update properly. I could see some updates, but several rooms wouldn't even load. In a future update, I would suggest that the Skype servers could either be excluded, or the ones that affect usage be removed from the list or included in their own category. That way, I could benefit from the additional block without loosing functionality on skype.

    Once I identified what was causing my skype issues, I had to undo that block to recover skype use.

  4. #34
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,571

    Default

    Actually, a few of its immunizations are available on Windows 8.1 (due to the Windows Update adding telemetry to older OS as well), and I must admit I haven't opened a separate thread for those.

    Btw, 1.5 was released yesterday.

    Anyway... looks like your BitDefender seems to think that blocking Microsoft servers is a bad thing. Understandable, since malware might block MS to avoid updates, but a bit too harsh here.
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  5. #35
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PepiMK View Post
    Btw, 1.5 was released yesterday.
    Hi,
    where can i download v1.5(just the executable) e.g. SDCutTheLine-1.5.exe?

    Installer or PortableApps(worse than Installer) not needed...

  6. #36
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    1

    Default Small Bugs and Thanks

    1. Love the program Thank You!!
    2. For those who want version 1.5 go here https://forums.spybot.info/downloads.php
    3. In version 1.5.0.35 it does not disable the Office 16 (2016) Task Schedule, when clicking apply...however i fixed this by looking at Show Details to see which tasks they were and then went into Task Scheduler manually and disabled them there. Upon reloading Anti-Beacon it then showed them as blocked.
    4. Had to do the Telemetry Hosts (Extensive List) twice to get it to update the hosts file and stay updated (Did it first time, said all blocked, exited program, went in again,said needed protection,blocked again,exited, went in again this time showing all blocked) Might be something my end,who knows seems fine now


    Thanks again and great job !

  7. #37
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spinout View Post
    Hi,
    where can i download v1.5(just the executable) e.g. SDCutTheLine-1.5.exe?

    Installer or PortableApps(worse than Installer) not needed...
    I concur, there is no need for an installer for this program.
    Is there any info on what is new in 1.5?
    Also, some clarity that this is also for windows 7 and 8.1 is probably in order as it seems even your own "team member" is unaware.


  8. #38
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    7

  9. #39
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I appreciate the effort spinout, and I'm sure the file is probably safe. But I just can't bring myself to run an exe from an unknown source.

  10. #40
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,571

    Default

    I usually copy the pure .exe over as well, just didn't link it anywhere. I've updated the first post here. Will think about adding it to the downloads portal as well.

    What's new is listed on the downloads page, but will add above.


    Edit #2: the download portal now has all stand-alone releases as well, and the link here points to there, so it'll always be up to date!
    Last edited by PepiMK; 2015-10-27 at 12:13.
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •