Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: SpyBot suddenly will not do system scan

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    2

    Question SpyBot suddenly will not do system scan

    I have spybot home edition 2.4.40.0. After updating yesterday, I tried to do a system scan today and discovered that the software will not let me do one. I rechecked for updates and had them installed, but no dice. I tried to invoke a system scan from the start center and by calling the system scan directly, but no luck. The menu items in the system scan component are inactive. If I click on the button in the last scan section, the program crashes with a memory exception. If I try to close the program, I get a memory exception. I'm running Windows xp professional (yeh I know its old, but it works) with all updates. Should I consider uninstalling the spybot and reinstalling it?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Hi , what OS do you have ?

    I has this issue too on 2 machines running XP SP3 after Wednesday update
    (i think it is a confusion with 2.6 version scan that is not supported in XP)

    An other issue is that the immunization is working, but doesn't display in the window after this update

    I resolved this yesterday night by reinstalling Spybot 2.4 over my previous version and the scan is working again


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1

    Default "System Scan" Disabled

    Same here,
    After recent update I went to scan system and the "System Scan" icon is inactive.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by patclash View Post
    Hi , what OS do you have ?

    I has this issue too on 2 machines running XP SP3 after Wednesday update
    (i think it is a confusion with 2.6 version scan that is not supported in XP)

    An other issue is that the immunization is working, but doesn't display in the window after this update

    I resolved this yesterday night by reinstalling Spybot 2.4 over my previous version and the scan is working again

    Running xp professional sp3. Looks like I'll have to reinstall. Thanks.

    Dave

  5. #5
    Member of Team Spybot (m/f)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    277

    Default

    Hi, we are sorry for the inconvenience. We realized there was something wrong. This update was not intended to be installed on XP machines. Reinstallation of 2.4 will solve this issue. The update was taken from our servers.
    (m/f)

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by (m/f) View Post
    Hi, we are sorry for the inconvenience. We realized there was something wrong. This update was not intended to be installed on XP machines. Reinstallation of 2.4 will solve this issue. The update was taken from our servers.
    Is this solved for the next update ?
    Last edited by patclash; 2016-04-27 at 09:48.

  7. #7
    Member of Team Spybot (m/f)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    277

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by patclash View Post
    Is this solved for the next update ?
    Well, it is not part of the updates any more, so you can safely insstall the next updates after reinstalling 2.4.
    (m/f)

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by (m/f) View Post
    Well, it is not part of the updates any more, so you can safely insstall the next updates after reinstalling 2.4.
    I just update and all is well now

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1

    Default Problem Scanning today

    Quote Originally Posted by (m/f) View Post
    Hi, we are sorry for the inconvenience. We realized there was something wrong. This update was not intended to be installed on XP machines. Reinstallation of 2.4 will solve this issue. The update was taken from our servers.
    I am also having problems with the Scan function. Nothing happens when I press the scan button. Also Immunization not working as usual. If the problem is solved by reinstalling Spybot 2.4 (Free version), can you give me a link where I can re-install it? The Spybot download website here: https://www.safer-networking.org/mirrors24/ lists too many options for downloading links and I have no idea which one to download.
    Last edited by jodanna69; 2016-04-27 at 20:25.

  10. #10
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,470

    Default

    Hello jodanna69,

    Any mirror should be fine but if you can't decide there is the Ad-free download at Safer-Networking Ltd on that page.

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •