Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Windows time wrong; Spybot anti-beacon

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default Windows time wrong; Spybot anti-beacon

    Hi I'm new

    I noticed the system time in Windows 10 was wrong and that I was unable to communicate with time.windows.com
    Does SDAntiBeacon-1.6 block this address? If so, which immunization option is responsible for it? There's a ton of Microsoft related entries in the host file but time.windows.com isn't one of them.

    Also while I'm asking, does the computer need to reboot for the changes to take affect after immunization?

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,448

    Default

    Hello dumpsterdiver1,


    Incorrect Windows 10 system time has been reported by users at various sites including the Microsoft Answers forum.

    For instance: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...4-d0b563dbc1ad

    You could search there for possible answers or start your own topic: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...10?tab=Threads

    Anti-Beacon

    "Simply clicking “Immunize” on the main screen of Anti-Beacon will immediately disable any known tracking features included by Microsoft in the operating system."

    Hope that helps.

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tashi View Post
    Hello dumpsterdiver1,


    Incorrect Windows 10 system time has been reported by users at various sites including the Microsoft Answers forum.

    For instance: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...4-d0b563dbc1ad

    You could search there for possible answers or start your own topic: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...10?tab=Threads

    Anti-Beacon

    "Simply clicking “Immunize” on the main screen of Anti-Beacon will immediately disable any known tracking features included by Microsoft in the operating system."

    Hope that helps.

    Best regards.
    Thanks for the reply. I had forgot to mention that I'm unable to ping time.windows.com and I don't have a firewall except for the one built into Windows. So I was guessing Spybot did something to block the communication with Microsoft. But from what you say, it doesn't sound so? I already resolved the problem by using a different NTP but at this point I'm just curious.

  4. #4
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,448

    Default

    Hi dumpsterdiver1,

    Quote Originally Posted by dumpsterdiver1 View Post
    I had forgot to mention that I'm unable to ping time.windows.com
    Apparently that too is fairly common.

    Win 7
    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...9-d7ae03c1f55a

    Win 10
    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...0-d4df13cc8f43

    Tutorial by TenForums, and user comments.
    https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/...dows-10-a.html

    Quote Originally Posted by dumpsterdiver1 View Post
    So I was guessing Spybot did something to block the communication with Microsoft. But from what you say, it doesn't sound so? I already resolved the problem by using a different NTP but at this point I'm just curious.
    One way to find out:
    "If any issues occur with your PC while using Anti-Beacon, undoing the changes made can be done by clicking the “Undo” button in the main window. This will re-enable all tracking services"

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •