Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Never finishes updating.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default Never finishes updating.

    No matter how many times I click update and it runs thru the process, it says there are updates available and on the start center screen it says the software is being updated. I have tried rebooting a dozen times and the same messages always come up. Each time it says updates are done in each section (antispyware and antivirus) but if I hit update again it will start over. This all started after I bought the antivirus upgrade. Do I need to delete the whole program and start over or is there a fix?

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,435

    Default

    Hello RoscoP,

    Sorry to hear the problem, what is the operating system please.

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default Wont finish update

    I am using Windows 7 Home Premium 6 bit. When I firtst click update it says that 728 updates have been installed in the antivirus section but still says updates avaiable in the update block. When I hit update it runs thru then adds a couple more updates then the next time it will say 728 updates installed and go thru the same loop again. The main window still says updating software. THis all started when I bought the antivirus upgrade.

  4. #4
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,435

    Default

    Hello RoscoP,

    Please read this FAQ and see if it helps: https://www.safer-networking.org/201...es-error-2005/

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  5. #5
    Junior Member Tobys dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    3

    Default Failed to install Spybot 2 antivirus signatures!

    I get the above error.
    I run Updates again,
    if issues, I clean cache, reboot and so on.
    then it runs well.

    Not today.
    I tried Spybot AV update issue tester tool 0.8 (rev 2016-11-26
    and this is the result .. below is last few lines
    Now what can I do?

    ...
    [00:00.000] [i] Update started...
    [00:14.383] [+] Installing antivirus signature updates...
    [00:17.550] [-] Failed to install Spybot 2 antivirus signatures!
    [00:17.550] [-] Failed to install Spybot 2 antivirus signatures (error -2005)!
    Toby's Dad

  6. #6
    Junior Member Tobys dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    3

    Default Updates is not updating properly

    This is the last four lines after I try to update
    >>>

    [00:56.919] [i] Updating Plugins/update.txt...
    [00:57.224] [i] Updated Plugins/update.txt (130 bytes)...
    [00:57.232] [+] Installing antivirus signature updates...
    [01:00.277] [-] Failed to install Spybot 2 antivirus signatures!
    [01:00.277] [-] Failed to install Spybot 2 antivirus signatures (e

    This page (in the thread) seems to be out-of-date, and is not found.
    "Please read this FAQ and see if it helps: https://www.safer-networking.org/201...es-error-2005/"

    Does anyone have any suggestions?
    Toby's Dad

  7. #7
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,159

    Default

    Does anyone have any suggestions?
    Yes, you could follow the instructions from this page from the FAQ:
    How to report a problem?

    If you are unable to find a solution for your problem, please let us know. Please let us know each detail that will help us to reproduce your issue. That is e.g. a screenshot of the window showing the problem and any other error messages you receive. Also let us know what you have done before the message appeared, e.g. what you have clicked.

    All this send to Team Spybot by using the link below to the Request Support page:
    https://www.safer-networking.org/support/#contactform

    See the following link for more information on how to take a screenshot:
    http://www.take-a-screenshot.org

    It is recommended not to send photos made using a mobile phone. Only screenshots please.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •