Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35

Thread: Recurring pop-up BitFefender Threat Scanner errors

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Thanks Zenobia!

    I'll give that a try and report back.

  2. #22
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,173

    Default

    You're welcome.

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Just confirming that the solution works.

    I have another problem that appears to be related to unchecking the option to install the Windows Security Centre integration when doing this installation, but I'll raise that elsewhere - just a warning to not do that.

  4. #24
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,173

    Default

    I'm glad it worked.

    Oh, yes, GeneralError had an issue when unchecking the option to install the Windows Security Centre integration during installation, also:
    https://forums.spybot.info/showthrea...ble-to-install
    If you could still raise that elsewhere, it would be good, to be sure it was seen by Team Spybot.

  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default Same problem, Spybot Portable

    I use Spybot Portable on a datakey, downloaded (and kept current) from the PortableApps repository. Scanned my computer last week with no problems: today the BitDefender recurring pop-up appeared...

    Obviously, I've removed the portable instance, and on restart the problem's gone.

    Do we have any idea when Spybot Portable will be safe to use again?

  6. #26
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,173

    Default

    Do we have any idea when Spybot Portable will be safe to use again?
    I don't know. I would presume that the bitdefender reoccurring popup will be fixed in some later version of Spybot, so then the error will be gone after the later version of Spybot is updated as a portable app by the portableapps person/people. But that's rather a lot of presuming on my part, so it might be best to ask Spybot support:
    https://www.safer-networking.org/support/ticket/

    And/or, if you are able to do a custom installation with portableapps, then there is a workaround posted here:
    https://forums.spybot.info/showthrea...l=1#post476629

  7. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    7

    Default

    yup, i get this as well after installing the latest version of spybot on windows 7 (a fresh reinstall), as well as the 4 unprotected host files.

  8. #28
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,173

    Default

    There's a workaround listed here that Marcel6969 got from support, if you are using the free edition of Spybot (the home and pro versions would need the files necessary for antivirus scanning):
    https://forums.spybot.info/showthrea...l=1#post476629

    So, you did a clean reinstall of Windows 7, where you have to re-add your programs again? You installed the latest version of Spybot, have you installed other programs as well? Did you install an antivirus and/or a firewall? If so, I have two posts from others on here about the 4 unprotected in the hosts file that you can look at, and see if they are applicable to you.

  9. #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenobia View Post
    There's a workaround listed here that Marcel6969 got from support, if you are using the free edition of Spybot (the home and pro versions would need the files necessary for antivirus scanning):
    https://forums.spybot.info/showthrea...l=1#post476629

    So, you did a clean reinstall of Windows 7, where you have to re-add your programs again? You installed the latest version of Spybot, have you installed other programs as well? Did you install an antivirus and/or a firewall? If so, I have two posts from others on here about the 4 unprotected in the hosts file that you can look at, and see if they are applicable to you.
    from the above link i did a reinstall of spyboy and that solved the bitdefender issue (why is the free version installing stuff the free version doesnt come with, they need to fix that).

    but anyways

    did a full reinstall of windows 7
    downloaded the chrome browser
    installed spybot, and avast
    installed steam and gog galaxy
    and this is where i am right now.

    the exact same 4 items just will not immunize as with the old install of windows 7, and i started noticing it happening since august of 2017 (who knows when it actually started happening).
    Last edited by madmax2069; 2017-12-09 at 06:28.

  10. #30
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,173

    Default

    I'm glad the bit defender workaround worked.

    Sueska has a post here about the Spybot Hosts File entries and Avast, as well as a post from BobxT that might be helpful:
    https://forums.spybot.info/showthrea...l=1#post478688
    There's no workaround posted there for re-immunizing and having it "stick" other than uninstalling Avast. By linking to that I'm not suggesting that you uninstall Avast or anything like that, I'm just linking to it so that you can get an idea about what is going on with the four unimmunized entries and why it is happening. The four sites that are allegedly removed from the host file entries by Avast are listed there by BobxT. Note that Sueska says in their last post that Web of Trust has negative reviews of the sites and that they checked Whois and cannot validate that these websites are associated with Avast:
    https://forums.spybot.info/showthrea...l=1#post478734
    (As an aside, I thought that was a really great and well worded post.)

    Sorry there's no workaround for that one that I know of, but at least you have some idea of what might be going on.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •