Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: VISTA. Cannot open Spybot Home or Free after completing full system scan.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default VISTA. Cannot open Spybot Home or Free after completing full system scan.

    I ran scan with Spybot Home after getting problems with Windows Explorer stopping when I tried to open some files.

    14 minor problems identified (similar to results of previous scans), and these "fixed" by spybot.

    Problems with Windows Explorer remained.

    Did a computer restart and got message that Spybot could not start, also a "runtime error 217@500E8338.

    Help, please.

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,225

    Default

    Sorry you're having troubles.
    As a heads up on Windows Vista, Microsoft ended support in April:
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...end-of-support

    I ran scan with Spybot Home after getting problems with Windows Explorer stopping when I tried to open some files.

    14 minor problems identified (similar to results of previous scans), and these "fixed" by spybot.

    Problems with Windows Explorer remained.

    Did a computer restart and got message that Spybot could not start, also a "runtime error 217@500E8338.

    You might like to ask for help from Spybot Support on this one.
    https://www.safer-networking.org/sup...ket/technical/
    If you have Spybot Home Edition currently, then you'll want to click on I Have a License.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default CRAGUSBE here. Thanks Zenobia for your reply.

    I am aware of Vista support ending last April, and no updates from Microsoft.

    I do have a Spybot Home License.
    I cannot find the place to "click on I have a License"??

    Further info about the problem: Start-up this morning gave me two MICROSOFT WINDOWS messages:
    1. Spybot - Search and Destroy tray access has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly.
    2. Sysstem settings protector has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly.


    Quote Originally Posted by Zenobia View Post
    Sorry you're having troubles.
    As a heads up on Windows Vista, Microsoft endewindd support in April:
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...end-of-support




    You might like to ask for help from Spybot Support on this one.
    https://www.safer-networking.org/sup...ket/technical/
    If you have Spybot Home Edition currently, then you'll want to click on I Have a License.

  4. #4
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,225

    Default

    You're welcome.

    I do have a Spybot Home License.
    I cannot find the place to "click on I have a License"??
    Here, try this link below. That should take you to the right form:
    https://www.safer-networking.org/con...ition-support/
    You can fill out the form, click the button that says I'm Not A Robot, then click the Submit button. After that, watch your email address to wait for a reply from them.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default Many thanks.

    I have just sent my data to support. May I let you know the results, or will you be able to see progress?

  6. #6
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,225

    Default

    You're welcome.
    No, I won't be able to see progress. You are by no means required to, but if you would like to tell me the results here when you are done, please do, I'd like that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •