Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Spybot "Not Responding" when trying to Fix Selected after a system scan

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1

    Default Same problem with Windows 10 Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by wheezy2 View Post
    Same issue. Bizarre. When it scans and I hit Fix Selected it shows as not responding. Then I have to rescan. There doesn't seem to be a fix yet.
    Same problem with Windows 10 Pro. No "safe mode option" that I am aware of. I also run Zone Alarm Firewall and Antivirus and disabling that does NOT make any difference.
    I have been using Spybot without issues for years. Even bought a license once many years ago. It wasn't until Windows 10 and the new version of Spybot that I had experienced any issues.

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 24_Ford_GPW View Post
    Same problem with Windows 10 Pro. No "safe mode option" that I am aware of. I also run Zone Alarm Firewall and Antivirus and disabling that does NOT make any difference.
    I have been using Spybot without issues for years. Even bought a license once many years ago. It wasn't until Windows 10 and the new version of Spybot that I had experienced any issues.
    Same problem for me on Win7 Ultimate. Killing S&D after it hangs then running another scan yields far fewer reported items and then 'Fix Selected' quickly fixes them all.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Same issue here on newest Spybot version, Windows 10

    Spybot froze when I clicked "Fix Selected" on spybot.png with 58 results.

    Ran it a second time (Spybot2.png) which only had 6 results, and Fixed right away.

    spybot.PNG Spybot2.PNG

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Palm Desert CA
    Posts
    2

    Default Fix Selected

    Quote Originally Posted by 24_Ford_GPW View Post
    Same problem with Windows 10 Pro. No "safe mode option" that I am aware of. I also run Zone Alarm Firewall and Antivirus and disabling that does NOT make any difference.
    I have been using Spybot without issues for years. Even bought a license once many years ago. It wasn't until Windows 10 and the new version of Spybot that I had experienced any issues.
    Exactly same problem. Have had it for months. Developer doesn't know why?

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Palm Desert CA
    Posts
    2

    Default Fix Selected

    I have had the same issue since I downloaded the program months ago. I hit "fix selected" and nothing happens. I hit it again and the program goes into "not responding." So I don't know if the issues are being fixed or not. I am a bit surprised that the developer of the program hasn't been able to repair that irregularity.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    1

    Default Workaround

    This problem of Spybot hanging when try to "Fix Selected" started in last 1-2 updates. All you need to do is instead of fixing "all" at once is to fix maybe 10-15 at a time. Just work down the detected entries in small groups and you will find that you are able to fix all the detected problems and Spybot won't hang.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fatbellybinky View Post
    Tried disabling my installed Firewall (Zonealarm) and AV (Avast) but still same problem. However, booting Windows into Safe Mode, Spybot performs as expected and after completing a system scan "fix Selected" works quickly with no long delays. So, the question is why should I have to boot into Safe Mode for it to run properly when it always used to work fine until fairly recently.
    I have updated to the latest 2.7 version of Spybot but that hasn't helped. Running the scan as Administrator doesn't help either. Having clicked on "Fix Selected" nothing much happens but clicking anywhere in the Spybot window results in the whole window greying out and the mouse pointer changes to a rotating blue circle

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RYDERASI View Post
    I have updated to the latest 2.7 version of Spybot but that hasn't helped. Running the scan as Administrator doesn't help either. Having clicked on "Fix Selected" nothing much happens b auto clicker word unscrambler jumble solver ut clicking anywhere in the Spybot window results in the whole window greying out and the mouse pointer changes to a rotating blue circle
    Tried disabling my installed Firewall (Zonealarm) and AV (Avast) but still same problem. However, booting Windows into Safe Mode, Spybot performs as expected and after completing a system scan "fix Selected" works quickly with no long delays. So, the question is why should I have to boot into Safe Mode for it to run properly when it always used to work fine until fairly recently.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •