Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Error copying SDWelcome.exe

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Error copying SDWelcome.exe

    Hi all. When I try to update Spybot I get this:

    [00:00.000] [i] Update started...
    [00:00.000] [+] Updating Service is active.
    [00:00.000] [.] Trying to retrieve update info file from http://updates1.safer-networking.org/spybotsd2.uid...
    [00:00.109] [+] Retrieved update info file.
    [00:00.218] [.] Info file part done.
    [00:00.249] [+] SDWelcome.exe (version 2.7.64.131) needs to be updated (to version 2.7.65.131).
    [00:00.281] [.] Downloading updates...
    [00:00.281] [+] File "SDWelcome.exe" needs to be downloaded.
    [00:03.671] [+] Extracted "SDWelcome.exe-2.7.65.131.lzs"!
    [00:03.671] [-] Error copying "SDWelcome.exe"!
    [00:03.671] [+] Scheduled "SDWelcome.exe" for replacement on reboot.
    [00:03.671] [+] All files have been processed.
    [00:03.671] [+] Installed 1 updates.
    [00:03.718]

    I have rebooted but it did not help. I'm also using Eset Internet Security.
    I'm on Windows 10.
    I've tried running SD as administrator but this didn't work. The other updates seem to have gone through ok.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,280

    Default

    Hello DirectCurrent,

    Please open a support ticket so the team can assist and keep track of the issue.

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    South Wales, UK
    Posts
    4

    Question

    I appear to have exactly the same issue.

    [00:00.000] [i] Update started...
    [00:00.017] [+] Updating Service is active.
    [00:00.019] [.] Trying to retrieve update info file from http://updates1.safer-networking.org/spybotsd2.uid...
    [00:02.626] [+] Retrieved update info file.
    [00:02.777] [.] Info file part done.
    [00:02.826] [+] SDWelcome.exe (version 2.7.64.131) needs to be updated (to version 2.7.65.131).
    [00:02.869] [.] Downloading updates...
    [00:02.874] [+] File "SDWelcome.exe" needs to be downloaded.
    [00:28.366] [+] Extracted "SDWelcome.exe-2.7.65.131.lzs"!
    [00:28.404] [-] Error copying "SDWelcome.exe"!
    [00:28.407] [+] Scheduled "SDWelcome.exe" for replacement on reboot.
    [00:28.409] [+] All files have been processed.
    [00:28.414] [+] Installed 1 updates.
    [00:28.443]

    I am running windows 7 and updates have always worked in the past. Tried uninstalling and reinstalling as well as running as administrator. No success.

    Issue appeared after update to version 2.7.64.0, start centre 2.7.64.131

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    South Wales, UK
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Just a quick update.

    I came back to the pc this morning, ran the update and everything worked fine.

    For some reason, the updating did not work following the application update yesterday, despite rebooting, uninstalling and reinstalling, then rebooting.

    Not sure whether something changed with the update files or servers at the SpyBot end or whether my pc needed to rest overnight for some unfathomable reason, but all is good now.

    I will withdraw my support ticket accordingly.

  5. #5
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,280

    Default

    Hello momentaryloss,

    Thank you for the update.

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    4

    Lightbulb Solution

    The guys got back to me on the support ticket. It happens because the welcome screen is loaded, aka start center. If you close the start center first it will update just fine.

  7. #7
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,280

    Default

    Thank you DirectCurrent.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    2

    Default did not work

    Quote Originally Posted by momentaryloss View Post
    Just a quick update.

    I came back to the pc this morning, ran the update and everything worked fine.

    For some reason, the updating did not work following the application update yesterday, despite rebooting, uninstalling and reinstalling, then rebooting.

    Not sure whether something changed with the update files or servers at the SpyBot end or whether my pc needed to rest overnight for some unfathomable reason, but all is good now.

    I will withdraw my support ticket accordingly.
    tried all of this and it did not work. why cant spybot fix this issue???

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    24

    Default

    I just experienced this error. I don't understand the solution, i.e. to close the start centre before update. The only way I know of for executing the update is via the start centre. Can anyone please clarify?

    AFTERNOTE: I just went throught the process. Here is my answer. If you launch an update from the start centre, a separate upate window is opened. You then have to close the start centre, then initiate the update from the update window. I get no error messages if I do that.
    Last edited by Exerciser; 2018-10-11 at 01:59.

  10. #10
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,096

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fibercarbon View Post
    tried all of this and it did not work. why cant spybot fix this issue???
    Try doing what Exerciser posted, fibercarbon.
    Quote Originally Posted by Exerciser
    AFTERNOTE: I just went throught the process. Here is my answer. If you launch an update from the start centre, a separate upate window is opened. You then have to close the start centre, then initiate the update from the update window. I get no error messages if I do that.
    That should work, but if not you could open a support ticket:
    https://www.safer-networking.org/support/#contactform

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •