Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Checksum errors

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default Checksum errors

    I have tried to update Spybot detection rules for 2 days now and keep getting BAD CHECKSUM errors from ALL servers. How do I fix this ?

    Thanks,

    fab

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,199

    Default

    Are you using the Spybot 1.6 version?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenobia View Post
    Are you using the Spybot 1.6 version?
    Yes, version 1.6.2.46

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Exactly the same problem for me too.

    Hope this is just a temporary issue and is fixed soon.

  5. #5
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,199

    Default

    Please see this page on bad checksum. It's one of the old website pages and many of those may be out of date as per the warning at the bottom, but I believe it should still be accurate:
    https://www.safer-networking.org/faq...hecksum-error/

    Mind you, since there are two of you not being able to update, perhaps there is a problem with the servers. But that's just my guess, I don't know if that is the case or not. There is a link provided there to the manual includes updates, along with instructions on where to store the manual updates. That should let you guys update to the latest spybot antispyware updates.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks for the info.

    Still getting the problem on all servers I've tried: UK, EU, US etc.

    Now two sets of definitions need updates.

    I've had bad checksum errors from specific servers before but never all of them and those errors have usually resolved themselves within a few days. This current issues is now over a week old.

    EDIT

    Thanks again - just manually updated from that link provided, very quick and SpyBot is now shown as being up to date.
    Last edited by Martlet; 2020-02-04 at 16:28.

  7. #7
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,199

    Default

    You're welcome.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Yes, last week I had on all servers the error, too. Now Safer-Networking#3 (Europe) works again, here.

  9. #9
    Member of Team Spybot (m/f)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    278

    Default

    Hallo everyone, we are experiencing problems with our update mirrors lately. At this point, I can only say that the servers 12ender-Verlag#1, Safer-Networking#2, Safer-Networking#3 and Safer-Networking#4 are working properly. So although other servers might be offered by the software, please use these. We are currently discussing possible ways of dealing with the issue.

    Thank you for your hints, your support and your patience.
    (m/f)

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I can confirm the Safer Networking Europe#3 is working for me too, which in the circumstances, being in the UK, is ironic. Even more so that the London one, which I checked first, was not.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •