Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Scheduler not working

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    2

    Default Scheduler not working

    Hi,
    Thank you for accepting me to the forum.

    I have been using Spybot version 1.62? (I think) free version for many years but due to the fact I have decided to keep using Win7 for a while, I decided to upgrade my security and have purchase a licence for v2.7 ( I did purchase a licence once before but didn't like the interface so never used it. The interface on this version is much more user friendly).

    None of my scheduled tasks are running on the schedule. I have adjusted and readjusted the settings (running as administrator), ticked whether logged on or not; wake computer if asleep etc.etc on a number of occasions but to no avail.
    Do you have any suggestions of what may be the problem?

    I am disappointed as the old, free version worked perfectly and scanned on whatever schedule I set it to.

    Thank you for any assistance.
    Last edited by GeordieGirl; 2020-02-01 at 04:06.

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,247

    Default

    Hello.

    Please see these two posts about continuing to use Windows 7:
    https://forums.spybot.info/showthrea...l=1#post483130
    https://forums.spybot.info/showthrea...l=1#post484266

    Is your scheduled system scan configured to use the user account System? If so it's possible it might be running in the background and not visible on the screen. There was a thread about that a bit before Christmas, please see here:
    https://forums.spybot.info/showthrea...dule-behaviour

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    2

    Talking Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenobia View Post
    Hello.

    Please see these two posts about continuing to use Windows 7:
    https://forums.spybot.info/showthrea...l=1#post483130
    https://forums.spybot.info/showthrea...l=1#post484266

    Is your scheduled system scan configured to use the user account System? If so it's possible it might be running in the background and not visible on the screen. There was a thread about that a bit before Christmas, please see here:
    https://forums.spybot.info/showthrea...dule-behaviour
    Hi,
    Thank you for your reply and the link to the pre-xmas thread. Part similar issue - it was not showing that it had run but I have tweaked and played and reset and it finally seems to be working and also confirming the scan so I'm happy now.

    Not sure why you put the links up about continuing to use Win7 as they didn't tell me anything I am not already aware of.
    As far as updates go, I haven't updated for about two or more years, as the last time it updated, it did something weird to my system. I reported it to MS and when the next update came through it hadn't been fixed and caused exactly the same problem ... don't ask me what it was I can't remember now as it is too long ago. I just remember not being able to use my laptop until I had removed the update via DOS. And I then disabled updates. So for the last 2 years or so nothing has been updated and everything has been trundling along just fine.
    I have another laptop which I updated to Win10 when MS was giving it away free and I HATE the interface, even with a Classic Start Menu add-on, so I am quite happy to trundle along with my old Sony Vaio, which I love, running Win7 until one of two things happens 1) the laptop dies or 2)a little nasty thingy infects it.
    However, I have faith that Spybot S&D will protect me.

  4. #4
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,247

    Default

    You're welcome.

    I usually always mention or link to end of support links/articles if anyone mentions having an os where support has ended from Microsoft, because sometimes people do not know the risks, or are unaware support ended if it's very early when it happens, and I want them to know about it and the risks involved. I sometimes cringe a little inside because I'm not really a bossy type, but my intentions are friendly and concerned, so I usually just plop it into the post, and hope for the best.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •