Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: !!!Bad checksum!?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    2

    Question !!!Bad checksum!?

    I've been trying to download the updates from 2005-10-21, and every time I attempt to do so, I get the message !!!bad checksum! and can't get the updates. I was running an older version of SpybotS&D, and I still have the problem with the newest version.

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    "Bad Checksum" problems can be overcome in most cases by changing the download server (site) as follows:
    1. Do not click "Search for Updates" again.
    2. Using the pull-down site selection menu (between the "Search for Updates" and "Download Updates" buttons) select another server.
    3. After changing the download server click "Download Updates" again.
    4. If you get another "Bad Checksum", repeated Steps 2 & 3 (using a 3rd or 4th server if necessary) until all updates are received.

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz IntelĀ® PentiumĀ® 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  3. #3
    Esteemed Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    554

    Default

    scubasteve: Could you please post the name of the download server that is giving you the "Bad Checksum" message?

    We've been trying to discover and fix issues with these servers and would be very interested which servers are still giving these errors and which are working well, so please tell us both. Also, please mention your location; State (US) or Country is good enough.

    Follow the instructions by md usa spybot fan in the post above to pick the server(s) and find their names.

    Thanks,
    bitman

  4. #4
    Junior Member K.Blam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by md usa spybot fan
    "Bad Checksum" problems can be overcome in most cases by changing the download server (site) as follows:
    1. Do not click "Search for Updates" again.
    2. Using the pull-down site selection menu (between the "Search for Updates" and "Download Updates" buttons) select another server.
    3. After changing the download server click "Download Updates" again.
    4. If you get another "Bad Checksum", repeated Steps 2 & 3 (using a 3rd or 4th server if necessary) until all updates are received.
    This procedure worked for me -- more than a month after I was first unable to update Spybot. Why so long? I didn't find the solution sooner.

    I'm on my less used computer and I haven't been worrying much about its security -- I do use other spyware/malware detection programs. Shortly before the holidays I tried to update and got the dreaded "!!!Bad Checksum!" result. I checked the Spybot site, fairly superficially, I suppose, and didn't find any information. So I uninstalled the old version and installed the new -- and got the same result. Then I was gone for a couple of weeks. I tried to update again after I got home: Same "!!!". I tried maybe twice more in the interim (ditto), and then tonight I started getting doggedly systematic about it and found my way to this thread via Google.

    Thanks, MD FAN, for posting a solution. Question is, why doesn't Spybot make it easier to find? :(

    K.Blam

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default I've got bad checksum message.

    Quote Originally Posted by md usa spybot fan View Post
    "Bad Checksum" problems can be overcome in most cases by changing the download server (site) as follows:
    1. Do not click "Search for Updates" again.
    2. Using the pull-down site selection menu (between the "Search for Updates" and "Download Updates" buttons) select another server.
    3. After changing the download server click "Download Updates" again.
    4. If you get another "Bad Checksum", repeated Steps 2 & 3 (using a 3rd or 4th server if necessary) until all updates are received.
    I log into windows xp sp2 in "safe mode with networking features" and it downloaded and installed all updates fine. I changed the mirror, but this time in normal windows running mode and I could downloaded the rest of the updates. It's a strange behaviour...I don't know what's the reason for that.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    2

    Smile

    Thanks, that really helped. The server that was giving me problems was the See-Cure#1, and the one that worked for me was See-Cure#2. I'm in California.

  7. #7
    Esteemed Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    554

    Default

    Thanks Steve, those are both in Germany, but we have seen continued issues with See-Cure #1.

    I suggest that you give the new BN FileForum (World) server a try for the next set of updates. This is actually several servers all over the world, with one right there in California.

    Let us know how it works if you get the chance, your input has already been helpful to everyone using Spybot.

    Bitman

  8. #8
    Translator Team Said Bakr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Kafr Sakr, Egypt
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Yes it is a great solution for CheckSum problem. I have a suggestion to SpyBot developers. The button of updates downloading server should be named by this name.
    for ($i = 0; $i != -1; $i++){
    echo "Best Regards";
    }

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default checksum error

    This is all well and gooed, except on my "pull down" menu there is NO option to select a download server (I have been reccommending your product to my customers for months now, and I am getting inundated by calls from customers who are getting the same error when attempting an update)...

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default check sum error

    Ok; please ignore my last post; we eventually managed to get a pull down menu. However, having passed this information along to my clients (all based here in the USA) checksum errors are still being obtained from the following mirror sites:

    BNFileforum
    SecurityWorks.net and SecurityWorks.org
    SaferNetworking

    I have also been able to duplicate the same errors reported to me by my customers with those mirrors.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •