Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Is there any virus affecting specifically SpyBot?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    12

    Default Is there any virus affecting specifically SpyBot?

    Hi

    I'm having this problem since a couple of days.

    For some reason the Spybot executable has disappeared. The strange thing is that whenever I try to reinstall it, the executable is never copied.

    I suspect there is some virus o similar affecting the program. I've check in this page but have not seen anything.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,474

    Default

    Hello.

    Quote Originally Posted by paulweller View Post
    I suspect there is some virus o similar affecting the program.
    There are malware infections that prevent security programs from running, but without seeing details I cannot say if that is the problem you are experiencing.

    Have you run an on-line Anti Virus scan yet?

    What is your Operating System and which security programs do you have installed?

    Have you noticed anything else remiss with the PC?

    Regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    12

    Default RE: Is there any virus affecting specifically SpyBot?

    Quote Originally Posted by tashi View Post
    Hello.



    There are malware infections that prevent security programs from running, but without seeing details I cannot say if that is the problem you are experiencing.

    Have you run an on-line Anti Virus scan yet?

    What is your Operating System and which security programs do you have installed?

    Have you noticed anything else remiss with the PC?

    Regards.

    My OS is Windows 2000 SP4. I have no antivirus software installed. I use Spybot everyday.

    I've run the online scan from Panda. Rigth now, it is reporting the file I'm attaching. I've check the register but found nothing that I can sort out.

    A couple of days ago the PC was poping windows about some memory address that could not be read, and the Internet explorer was lauched by some process without user intervention. These problems are sorted out now but I still cannot install Spybot.

    Regards

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I've got the same problem.
    It deleted even the executable of avast home edition..

    really don't know what to do..
    there is nothing in processes.. in the registry... don't know where to search :P

    My OS is Windows XP Professional Edition SP2 and i've had the same Blu Screen with some memory address error...
    Last edited by Karvek; 2006-12-31 at 16:02.

  5. #5
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,474

    Default

    paulweller please follow the procedure in this link: "BEFORE you POST" -Preliminary Steps to produce a hjt log.

    Then start your own thread in the Malware Removal Forum

    Once you have posted the hjt log, a helper will advise you as soon as available.

    Karvek please run the on-line anti virus scan, as shown in that topic, and also start a topic in the malware forum.

    Cheers.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •