Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Portal sepeti only temporarily removed

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    54

    Question Portal sepeti only temporarily removed

    I've got some malware forcing my chrome homepage to be a turkish site named "portalsepeti.com"
    Spybot only removes it until my pc restarts, the same if i try to remove it using regedit.

    So there must be a file it doesn't notice.

    Any help in removing this from my pc would be appreciated!

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    32,796

    Default

    Hello Nillor,

    Which version of Spybot-S&D do you have and when did you last update the definitions?

    Also what is the operating system and other security software installed.

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP. Consumer Security 2006-2014


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    54

    Default

    I downloaded the free version from your site yesterday.

    My operating system is win7 and i've got avast antivirus, which didn't detect it either.

  4. #4
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    32,796

    Default

    Hello Nillor,
    Quote Originally Posted by Nillor View Post
    I downloaded the free version from your site yesterday.
    Thanks, both versions available for download on our homepage- 1.6.2 and 2.0 need the definitions updated after installing Spybot. Double checking to make sure that was done.
    Quote Originally Posted by Nillor View Post
    My operating system is win7
    Did you elevate Administrator permissions before running a scan: Run as Administrator

    If that does not resolve the problem someone could take a look at the system. You'd need to start a topic in the Malware Removal Forum where a volunteer analyst would advise when available.

    First see that forum's FAQ which also includes instructions in post #2 on how to provide DDS and aswMBR logs, which are used in the preliminary analysis.
    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=288

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP. Consumer Security 2006-2014


  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tashi View Post
    Hello Nillor,

    Thanks, both versions available for download on our homepage- 1.6.2 and 2.0 need the definitions updated after installing Spybot. Double checking to make sure that was done.

    Did you elevate Administrator permissions before running a scan: Run as Administrator

    If that does not resolve the problem someone could take a look at the system. You'd need to start a topic in the Malware Removal Forum where a volunteer analyst would advise when available.

    First see that forum's FAQ which also includes instructions in post #2 on how to provide DDS and aswMBR logs, which are used in the preliminary analysis.
    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=288

    Best regards.

    It says that i was missing 15 or so updates, so i'm gonna update and scan again.

    But if it doesn't help, i'll try the other thing you suggested.

    Thanks!
    Last edited by Nillor; 2013-01-22 at 19:08.

  6. #6
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    32,796

    Default

    Microsoft MVP. Consumer Security 2006-2014


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •