View Full Version : spybot shuts down computer while scanning

2006-05-20, 17:28
I have used Spybot for 3 1/2 years and never had a problem... until now. After the 5-19 updates (v1.4) while scanning, in the 29000 range of definitions, I think it's on GainGator at this point, my computer just suddenly shuts completely off. I'm wondering if anyone else has this problem, or if it's just me. I thought about using system restore to go back to 5-18 to make sure Spybot is the problem, but then I'd lose the updates. Does anyone have a suggestion on how to proceed?

md usa spybot fan
2006-05-20, 17:51
Spybot is quite CPU intensive. It is possible that the CPU overheating and the system is shutting down to protect the processor. Make sure that the fans are running and that dust is cleared from any ventilation ports in the case.

Similar problems:
Spybot causes shut down
PC crashes while Spybot is running
Spybot wont run
spybot related shutdown

2006-05-20, 18:29
That was it. My heatsink was loose. I should actually be grateful to Spybot (and this forum, of course) for bringing out the problem! Thank you very much.

md usa spybot fan
2006-05-20, 19:31
I guess that we can add detecting loose heat sinks to the growing list of auxiliary functions that Spybot performs.

2006-06-25, 03:05
Hello. This is my first post so I will try to include all relevent information.

About 6 weeks ago, I added a second HD to my machine and installed
Win XP home edition. This is fully patched. The machine now dual boots
to either Win XP (default) or Win 98 SE. XP is on a 40GB HD with NTFS,
while 98SE is on a 20GB HD with FAT32.

The machine has a AMD K-6-2 500 MHz processor and 384MB ram.

When I run Spybot on win98 side it runs fine.

When I run it on WIN XP it usually crashes somewhere between file 10000 and
file 32000.

I am using the most recent version of spybot, also using AVG 7 free edition
antivirus software, latest version of AdAware and the latest version of
Zone Alarm free edition.

Whlie I do understand that spybot is very cpu intensive, I wonder why it
will cause the XP side to blue screen...(XP has recovered from a serious error)
I don't run any other programs while running spybot and I don't use auto updates. I thought that power management but be a problem, so I set it
to leave everything on all the time.

Oh, yes, I have uninstalled and reinstalled spybot but the problem remains.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

2009-10-31, 03:34
Just a short note to let you know that my laptop also was crashing while running SSD --> I did a full "cleaning service" :D: and now the laptop and SSD are working great

Excellent sw and excellent forum



mic kretz
2011-12-31, 15:05
I had the same problem and the first thing that came to my mind was that it looked like either the computer overheated and shut down (running a laptop) or it detected some virus which shuts down the computer on detection.....glad i found this post...it makes me believe the first is true lol....thnx for posting!